London Marathon: Yehualaw and Kipruto win in the capital

Yalemzerf Yehualaw won in London as the Marathon returned to the capital. (Photo by Paul Harding/Getty Images)

Both the men’s and women’s London Marathon races were won by maiden victors today as Kenya’s Amos Kipruto and Ethiopia’s Yalemzerf Yehualaw claimed inaugural titles on the Mall this afternoon.

In one of the biggest marathons on the circuit – which has seen 42,000 mass participants – the African duo managed to break away in the latter stages to win the 26.2 mile race.

In the women’s elite race, Yehualaw become the youngest ever London Marathon winner with a time of two hours, 17 minutes and 26 seconds – the third quickest London Marathon time in history.

Joyciline Jepkosgei came in second while Ethiopia’s Alemu Megertu completed the podium.

In the men’s elite race, which got going a short time after the women’s, Kipruto stormed home in a time of two hours, four minutes and 39 seconds after breaking away from the pack on Embankment.

Belgium’s Bashir Abdi made the podium but was pipped to second by Ethiopia’s Leul Gebresilase.

Switzerland claimed a double in the wheelchair races with Marcel Hug and Catherine Debrunner coming home in top spot on the roads of the capital – David Weir came third in the men’s race.

For all the latest Lifestyle News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TheDailyCheck is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected] The content will be deleted within 24 hours.