Other than having lots of sugar and artificial flavoring and coloring, most gummy candies containgelatin. Most of the “gummy” candies have a interesting ingredients that people are not aware of. Gelatin is a gelling agent made from animal skin and bones. But knowing what gelatin is can’t prepare you for seeing how it’s made.
If you’ve ever had a vegetarian friend turn down a fruit snack or cup of jello, you know it’s because many of those products are made with gelatin. Not all gummy candies are made with gelatin, but most are. Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens created the short film below that shows the way many gummy candies are made.
Starting with the delicious looking sugar coated candy and working backwards through the manufacturing process. If you don’t care what you eat and want to continue enjoying gummy candies, then you should probably not read, and definitely do not watch the short video below.
If, however, you DO care about what you eat, then please continue. Now that you know the ingredients, you can make an informed decision next time you consider buying candy.
Click to WATCH: The Disturbing Truth About How Gummy Candy Is Made